My first attempt at this blogging malarkey

It’s not everyday you get the opportunity to go and have a look behind the scenes at one of the UK’s largest plant retailers, so when I received an invitation from Michael to go and have a behind the scenes tour of the trials grounds of Thompson & Morgan, I jumped at the chance. 
Upon arrival we were greeted by what I can only describe as the horticultural equivalent of Blackpool illuminations! One of the most amazing displays of colour I have seen in a ‘garden’ in a long time.
After having taken part in some crazy events with Michael over the last year, it was great to see him in his element – this dude is so passionate about what he does. He even created a new word to help describe the flower power of the new plant selections “flourifishness”.
IMG_7679IMG_7676IMG_7671
 
 
We were told about these great half hardy hybrid Digitalis.
If my memory recalls correctly, crossed with Isoplexis. To produce a plant that does not set seed, giving a longer flowering period.
(I’m sure I will be corrected if I got that wrong? 😀)
Some very eye catching colours!
IMG_7674
 
 
 
 
Strangely I found myself drawn to this Alstroemeria as my favourite plant of the day! It reminds me of Rosa ‘rhapsody in blue’ 
IMG_7680
 
 
In complete contrast to the vivid purple. There was this little ‘beaut’ a yellow Pelargonium ‘Custard Cream’
IMG_7692
The prize for the most eye catching plant of the day has to go this Gazania ‘Giant Red Bronze’
Just awesome colours – check out the Neon blue streaks on the petals! 
IMG_7711
 
The most tactile plant of the day, which In my mind should be called ‘Touch Me’  was this little bad boy!!
Ricinus ‘Carmenicita’ the seed pods have very cool rubber like spikes on them, almost impossible to walk past without touching them, not to mention the lucid pink colour! 
Like a bunch of sea urchins hanging out on a stick 😀 
I am going to try a few of these in our Orangery 
IMG_7695
 
We were also treated to a tour of the vegetable trials. Being a chilli head, the standout plant for me was a little chilli called ‘Loco’
The fruits turn from a very vivid purple, through to bright red as the fruits mature.
It packs a bit of a kick. I can vouch for this as I ate two of them 😀
IMG_7716
 
We then ventured into the trials fields.
IMG_7718IMG_7733
Row upon row of flowers and vegetables, standing their ground against the elements.
It’s fair to say that plants are not given an easy time in these exposed fields.
I can only imagine the pride a breeder must feel, seeing their plants out in the trials field for the first time. 
The culmination of what in some cases can be more than 10 years work to get to that point.
You have to admire the passion and dedication of these guys’ quest for plant perfection.
I have to say. I thoroughly enjoyed my afternoon & came away buzzing with ideas and a very cool goody bag! 
 
 
Cheers for reading.
2 thoughts on “My first attempt at this blogging malarkey

  1. Hi Andy – welcome to blogland! It was a great day wasn’t it and I’d forgotten about that fab Pelargonium, so thanks for reminding me. Here’s hoping after this fine debut that you decide to keep blogging about your travels and gardening 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Andy – great first post about a truly fab afternoon! ‘Loco’ was a stand out for me too ! I can also vouch for the Digitalis ‘Illumination’, as I am growing three in the garden – they just get better every season!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

